top of page

Women of Innovation 2011

Now in its seventh year, this awards program gathers the Connecticut technology community to recognize women in the workforce who are innovators, role models and leaders in the technology, science and engineering fields.  Students at both the high school and college level are also honored for their studies and accomplishments.

Fifty women in technology fields and high school and college students studying in various technology disciplines from across Connecticut will be honored the evening of March 31st at the Aqua Turf in Southington. Attend this event and meet innovators, entrepreneurs, role models and leaders in the technology, science and engineering fields. The event will close with the announcement of this year’s eight category winners, selected from among the finalists. Approximately 600 guests are expected.

For more information about the past years’ events and to see the pictures from the events, please click here.

Event Details: Date: Thursday, March 31, 2011

5-6:00 PM – Networking & Cocktail Reception 6-8:30 PM – Dinner & Awards Program 

Location: Aqua Turf Club 556 Mulberry Street, Southington (Map)

Keynote Speaker:

Ella L.J. Edmondson Bell PhD is founder and president of ASCENT. She is an internationally recognized scholar, author, and consultant on race, gender, and social class in organizations.

In their book Our Separate Way: Black and White Women and the Struggle for Professional Identity (Harvard Business School Press), Professor Bell and Stella M. Nkomo provide an unflinching look at the formative experiences of female executives and reveal that black women have charted a unique course up the corporate ladder. Based on an eight-year research effort, this powerful book illuminates how understanding diversity in all its dimensions—including class as well as gender and race—can make the workplace a better environment for all.

Professor Bell received her BA from Mills College of Education, her master’s from Columbia University, and her PhD from Case Western Reserve University. She has held academic appointments at Yale University, the University of Massachusetts, MIT, and The University of North Carolina. She has served as associate professor of business administration at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth since 2000.

Title Sponsors;


Youth Innovation and Leadership Scholarship Sponsor;

1 view0 comments
bottom of page