top of page

CTC President, Matthew Nemerson, Elected President of North American Trade Association for Technolog

Joint Media Notice from the Connecticut Technology Council & Technology Councils of North America (TECNA)

Contact: Mike Scricca 860-288-0878 x334,

For Immediate Release

Connecticut Technology Council President Matthew Nemerson Elected President of North American Trade Association for Technology Organizations

April 9, 2009, East Hartford, Conn —  Matthew Nemerson, 53, president & CEO of the Connecticut Technology Council (CTC) was elected president of the Technology Councils of North America (TECNA) at the organization’s semi-annual conference in Baltimore. TECNA represents regional and state technology councils and associations throughout the United States and Canada. Nemerson’s term of office is for two years. Before joining CTC in 2003, Nemerson had managed technology firms, started an incubator with Yale University and redeveloped parts of downtown New Haven. 

TECNA has over 40 member associations with approximately 15,000 technology-oriented member companies, the largest of any similar technology trade association.

Nemerson said, “I am proud to have earned the confidence of my peers in a short time and excited to have this opportunity to be involved at a national level in strengthening the technology industry during a critical time for the economy.”

TECNA convenes two major annual conferences for leaders and managers of state and regional technology associations to discuss policy and best practices for councils. It organizes an annual fly-in of technology company CEOs to Washington D.C. to advocate for federal support of regional innovation and technology programs and oversees newsletters, technology social networks and monthly information exchanges for the tech council industry.

TECNA recently began negotiations with the Washington D.C. based advocacy group TechAmerica to jointly develop new programs to simplify and reorganize the representation of technology companies throughout the U.S. from the local to national level. A similar effort with an Ottawa-based group will soon begin in Canada.

Nemerson’s tenure follows the two-year term of Richard Nelson, president of the Utah Technology Council.  Nelson will remain as immediate past president. Other newly elected officers include vice president Iain Klugman, president of the Communitech Technology Association (Waterloo Ontario, Canada), treasurer Audrey Russo, president of the Pittsburgh Technology Council and secretary Maxine Ballen, president of the New Jersey Technology Council.

Nemerson noted that given the challenges of the American economy, the future reliance on technology companies to create new jobs would be greater than ever. He mentioned improving communications and sharing best practices between tech organizations, providing specific feedback to the Obama administration and groups such as TechAmerica to refine the Recovery Act, and building new budget initiatives from the viewpoint of entrepreneurs and early stage investors.  

About TECNA ( ): The Technology Councils of North America (TECNA) is the only group specifically oriented to represent and support organizations that speak for technology firms in North American states, regions and provinces. Technology councils exist in almost every U.S. state and Canadian province, with some having more than one. Councils organize diverse types and sizes of technology-based firms in each state or region into cohesive communities, and advocate for state legislation and programs to support the growth of the tech sector. They work with educators to produce more science and engineering literate graduates; inform local political leaders of global and interconnected networks that make regions competitive; help early stage firms find financing; and help established companies stay and grow in their communities.

About Connecticut Technology Council ( Founded in 1994, the Connecticut Technology Council speaks for a dynamic community of 2,500 firms in the state ranging from large multi-nationals such as GE, UTC and Pitney Bowes, to numerous medium and small businesses and hundreds of early stage start-ups.  The Council presents over 60 events a year for thousands of attendees, including UHY LLP Tech Top 40, the Cantor Colburn Innovation Pipeline Awards and the UTC – Boehringer Ingelheim – Day Pitney Women of Innovation Awards Gala. CTC is an advocate for the role of innovation, tech transfer and ample early stage capital in the state. In conjunction with the State of Connecticut and an angel investor network the Council helps hundreds of start-up firms through its Innovation Pipeline Accelerator.  Led by a 42-person board, the Council is chaired by Chris Kalish, executive Director of the GE Edgelab at UCONN-Stamford.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page