top of page

Connecticut Technology Council presents FuelCell Energy, Inc. with 2008 Innovation Excellence Award


(l-r)  Matthew Nemerson, Joan McDonald – State of CT, DECD, Frank Wolak – Fuel Cell Energy, Beth Alquist – Day Pitney.

The Connecticut Technology Council (CTC) has presented its annual Innovation Excellence Award to member company FuelCell Energy, Inc. a  Danbury-based fuel cell company. The award was made at the Council’s Annual Meeting held at surgical device manufacturer Covidien in North Haven.  Scott Flora, from Covidien welcomed CTC to it’s facility:

About the Awards:

2008 Innovation Excellence Award The Innovation Excellence Award is now in its fifth year and is given to the CTC member which has displayed technology leadership in its industry vertical, grabbed increasing market share, and been recognized for innovation by its peer or trade groups and industry analysts. Previous year winners have been ATMI, Inc of Danbury, Pitney Bowes of Stamford, Open Solutions Inc of Glastonbury and Sonalysts, Inc of Waterford.   FuelCell Energy leads the way in the development and manufactdure of stationary fuel cell power plants for commercial and industrial applications. Their fuel cells provide ultra-clean power and are on the cutting edge of the energy market. Clients include Pepperidge Farm in Bloomfield with the largest fuel cell plant in the U.S., The Ford Motor Company and the U.S government. They are the acknowledged leader in stationary fuel cell technology and they have put the Connecticut fuel cell industry on the map. With five-hundred Connecticut employees in both Danbury and Torrington, FuelCell Energy is led by R. Daniel Brdar, its Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer.

2008 Public Policy Leader of the Year Award Receiving the Council’s 2008 Public Policy Leader of the Year award was Joan McDonald, the Commissioner of the state Department of Community and Economic Development.  The award recognizes the individual who is providing leadership in support of the technology based set of economic development polices the Council believes are best for the state. Commissioner McDonald is a proponent of innovation, and is a supporter of groups working together to support entrepreneurs. She has been willing to back and endorse the role of non-governmental groups such as the Council in helping to achieve important State goals.

2008 Volunteer of the Year Also honored at the 2008 CTC Annual Meeting was Beth Alquist as its 2008 Volunteer of the Year. Beth is a partner at Day Pitney where she is currently the co-chair of the firm’s Intellectual Property Department and the past chair of both the Women Working Together and the firm’s Diversity Committees. At CTC, Beth serves as Chair of its Woman of Innovation Planning Committee which she has led since 2006. She done a superb job of leading the 20 women who volunteer on this committee and helped build the event to 550+ attendee event that it is today. Learn more About Women of Innovation

About the Connecticut Technology Council The Connecticut Technology Council is the state’s industry association for the technology sector. CTC’s mission is to “connect people, ideas and opportunities to the global technology and innovation community.” CTC provides members with business assistance and specialized programs, in addition to promoting and supporting public policies that position Connecticut to have a globally recognized “culture of innovation” that helps attract great ideas and entrepreneurs to in turn develop new jobs and wealth for the state.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page