

34 Connecticut STEM Leaders Earn Recognition as 2023 Women of Innovation[®] Finalists

Connecticut Technology Council celebrates trailblazing women & girls inspiring visionary leadership in scientific research, education, manufacturing & entrepreneurship

Thirty-four exceptional Connecticut women will be recognized for their achievements in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) at the 18th annual Women of Innovation[®] awards, to be presented at the Connecticut Technology Council's first in-person ceremony since 2019.

The prestigious finalists were selected from a field of over 80 nominees – scientists, researchers, academics, manufacturers, student leaders, entrepreneurs, and technicians who are catalysts for scientific advancement throughout Connecticut.

The awards ceremony, recognizing the 34 outstanding finalists and announcing winners in seven categories, will be held on **Wednesday, October 25, 5 PM-7 PM** at Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven. Finalists from throughout the state were selected based on innovativeness and accomplishments in science and technology, independent research, as well as academic achievement and community service.

"Since the first Women of Innovation event that I attended, I have been extremely impressed with the great contribution these outstanding women have had and continue to have on the technology ecosystem and our society. The class of 2023 certainly have earned this distinction," said Giovanni Tomasi, President/Chief Technology Officer of RSL Fiber Systems and Board Chair of CTC. "The winners and finalists in the High School category are especially astounding; they have accomplished more in 17 or 18 years than most people do in a lifetime."

"The Connecticut Technology Council is proud to host the Women of Innovation event with the support of our members, sponsors, and partners," said Milena Stankova Erwin, CTC's newly appointed Executive Director. "Congratulations to all the award finalists! We are excited to honor them and celebrate their impressive accomplishments and their noteworthy contributions."

The 18th annual Women of Innovation[®] awards event is sponsored by Medtronic; Axinn, Veltrop and Harkrider LLP; the University of Connecticut; Connecticut Department of Economic & Community Development; and FuelCell Energy, Inc. Supporting Level Sponsorships and Scholarship funding is provided by Carillon Technologies, Empowering Pathways, HyAxiom, Nel Hydrogen, iCleanse, Precision Combustion, Inc., Nassau Financial Group, RSL Advanced Lighting Technologies, The Jackson Laboratory, Carol (Hylton Bravo) Thorney and Visual Technologies, Inc. Media Sponsor is WTNH News 8.

All nominees had to meet the following minimum requirements: currently working or studying in Connecticut, demonstrate strong leadership abilities, and serve or previously served as a mentor, either short or long-term, peer mentor, career mentor or life mentor. Nominees must also meet the specific requirements in the award category in which they were nominated.

For tickets to the awards event and additional information, visit <u>www.ct.org/womenofinnovation</u>.

About the Connecticut Technology Council: CTC is a statewide, member-based trade association focused on uniting and growing Connecticut's technology community by connecting leaders, driving public policy, and providing needed resources to growing tech companies. CTC works with its members and the community to advance Connecticut's reputation as a tech-centered state.

2023 Women of Innovation®

Academic Innovation and Leadership

- Marissa Barreto Lead Magnet Teacher, Aero/Hydrospace Engineering & Physical Science Magnet High School
- Laurie Caines Associate Professor of Medicine, UConn Health Center
- Ivana Milanovic Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace & Acoustical Engineering, University of Hartford
- Patricia Rinaldi Chemistry Teacher, Wilton High School
- Paula Zimbrean MD Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Surgery (Transplantation), Yale School of Medicine

Community Innovation and Leadership

- Gwendolyn Brantley Founder & Executive Director, ACCESS Educational Services, Inc.
- Dana Gilland Senior Vice President, Environmental Social Governance, ApiJect Systems Corporation
- Jennifer Good Chief Executive Officer, Trevi Therapeutics, Inc.

Corporate Innovation and Leadership

- Michelle Johnson Chief Executive Officer, Metrum Research Group
- Katie Cubina Senior Vice President, Missions Program, Mystic Aquarium
- Michelle Madden Lead, Materials and Processes Engineering, Operational Military Engines, Pratt & Whitney
- Nancy Miller Director, Project Engineering, Triumph Group
- Ioana Stanescu Manager of Systems Engineering, Doosan Fuel Cell America, Inc.
- Rebecca Velez Frey President and CEO, Siduma Therapeutics, Inc. Venture Partner, Elm Street Ventures
- Brittany Zabinsky Associate Director, Pratt & Whitney

Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership

- Leila Daneshmandi Associate Professor of Innovation & Entrepreneurship, UConn School of Engineering
- Stacey duBell Mileti Chief Executive Officer, Unisoft Medical Corporation
- Michelle Frank Chief Growth Officer, Goodroot, Inc.

Research Innovation and Leadership

- **Rosalie Bordett** Graduate Researcher, UConn Health Center
- Elise Courtois Director, Single Cell Biology Lab; Senior Research Scientist, The Jackson Laboratory
- Akiko Iwasaki Sterling Professor, Immunobiology & Professor, Dermatology & Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Yale University
- Katherine Kayser-Bricker Chief Scientific Officer, Halda Therapeutics Inc.
- Bronwyn Power Associate Director, Pratt & Whitney
- Leslie Shor Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, UConn School of Engineering

Collegian Innovation and Leadership

- Jennifer Moses Arulraj Moses Undergraduate, Southern Connecticut State University
- Fei Dou Ph.D. Candidate, University of Connecticut
- Audrey Larson Undergraduate, UConn, co-Founder, Geomate LLC and Unfolded LLP
- Alyssa Matz Undergraduate, UConn School of Medicine
- Hephzibah Rajan Undergraduate, Quinnipiac University

Youth Innovation and Leadership

- Aditi Bhattamishra Student, Amity Regional High School
- Katherine Chan Student, Joel Barlow High School
- Emma Conway Student, Suffield High School
- Ana-Lois Davis Student, CREC Academy of Aerospace & Engineering
- Sandra Lu Student, Avon High School

